Guilty pleasures?

Standard

I don’t hold with the idea of guilty pleasures. If I enjoy something I enjoy it, that’s that, and I am not going to feel like I have something to hide or feel guilty about. Maybe the term ‘guilty pleasure’ is a kind of shorthand for ‘cheap, tacky, embarrassing, uncultured, too mainstream.’ Not the kind of thing you would see discussed by the arty people on Newsnight, the kind of thing some people might sneer at.

So, here are a few things that might make you cringe, but they don’t me.

Explicit rap music. I have a completely inappropriate reaction to it though. When ‘I got Ho’s’ came on the radio at the gym I got a fit of the giggles.

Chicken kebabs, chilli sauce please.

Chart music stations.

I used to watch E! news when we had that channel.

Watching QVC on tv.

The Unikitty from the Lego movie.

Tinned fruit, especially red fruit like raspberries and cherries.

Chocolate, and cooking things containing chocolate.

Playing charity shop bingo with my son. If we correctly guess the name of a shop assistant we win £1.

Hiding things in cupboards/freezer for my consumption only.

Storage hunters.

Coffee, and then more coffee.

Leave a Reply

